Skip to main content
U-M Arts Initiative Signature

Committee Members

Catalyzed by the involvement and perspective of Yo-Yo Ma, developed with the vision of three Michigan artists - Nour Ballout, Tunde Olaniran, and Avery Williamson - and incorporating the lived experiences of students from all three of the university's campuses, the foundation of this project rests in the possibilities for all to participate in a shared art-making process and the ability of that creative experience to re-conceptualize space, community, and human connections.

Alyssa Melani, Ashwin Soorya Prakash, Audrey Banks

Artist Steering Committee Members:

  • Nour Ballout, a Detroit-based interdisciplinary visual artist and curator.
  • Tunde Olaniran, a Flint-based musician and performer.
  • Avery Williamson, an Ann Arbor-based interdisciplinary artist whose work includes weaving, photography, jewelry, painting and drawing
Alyssa Melani, Ashwin Soorya Prakash, Audrey Banks

Student Steering Committee Members:

  • Audrey Banks, Art and Design, UM-Flint

  • Alyssa Melani, School of Music, Theatre & Dance, Ann Arbor.

  • Ashwin Prakash, College of Engineering, Ann Arbor.

  • Constance Burroughs, College of Arts, Sciences, & Letters, Dearborn.

    Read the student project blog here.